The Legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly, except for the Province of Quebec where there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

The Legislative Assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the Lieutenant-Governor on the advice of the Premier of the province.

## 13.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected

Province,	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (sq. miles)		
Territory or District					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario <sup>1</sup> Quebec <sup>2</sup> Nova Scotia New Brunswick	July July	1, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867.	$363,282 \\ 523,860 \\ 20,743 \\ 27,473$	49,300 71,000 325 512	594,860 21,068
Manitoba <sup>3</sup>	July	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	219,723	26,789	246,512
British Columbia	July	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	359,279	6,976	366,255
Prince Edward Island	July	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873.	2,184		2,184
Saskatchewan <sup>4</sup>	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)	237,975	13,725	251,700
Alberta <sup>4</sup>	Sept.	1,	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3)	248,800	6,485	255,285
Newfoundland	Mar.	31,	1949	Act to approve the Terms of Union of Newfoundland with Canada, 1949 (13 Geo. VI, c. 1)	147,994	7,370	155,364
Yukon Territory <sup>5</sup>	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c, 6)	205,346	1.730	207,076
Northwest Territories—° Mackenzie <sup>7</sup> Keewatin <sup>8</sup> Franklin <sup>7</sup>	Jan.	1,	1920 1920 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	493,225 218,460 541,753	34,265 9,700 7,500	527,490 228,160
				• Canada	3,610,097	235,677	3,845,774

<sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40). <sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebee Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40). in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council, whereby approxim-

in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council, whereby approxim-ately 112,000 sq. miles of territory (formerly considered as part of Quebec) was assigned to Newfoundland. \*Extended by the Extension Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881, and the Manitoba Boundaries Ex-tension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 32). \*Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan. established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian Privy Council, concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895. \*Established as a provisional District in the Northwest Territories in 1895 and proclaimed the Yukon Judicial District on Aug. 16, 1897; was separated from the Northwest Territories and constituted the Yukon Territory in June 1898. \*Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts 1867-68. and the undefined Northwestern

<sup>1</sup> ukon lerritory in June 1898. <sup>6</sup> Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts 1867-68, and the undefined Northwestern Territory were transferred by the Imperial Government to be admitted into union with Canada as the North West Territories by Order in Council June 23, 1870 (effective July 15, 1870). The Northwest Ter-ritories were defined by the Northwest Territories Amendment Act, 1905, as that part of Rupert's Land and Northwestern Territory except such portions thereof as form Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, the District of Keewatin and Yukon Territory. In 1912, part of Rupert's Land (the District of Ungava) was annexed to Quebec and the remainder, south and west of James and Hudson Bays as far north as the 60th parallel, to Ontario and Manitoba. J Established as morpingia Districts in 1895

 <sup>7</sup> Established as provincial Districts in 1895.
<sup>8</sup> The District of Keewatin, created in 1876, was withdrawn from the Government of the Northwest Territories until July 24, 1905, when it was enlarged by those portions of the Districts of Saskatchewan and Athabaska not included in the Province of Saskatchewan and placed under the jurisdiction of the reorganized Northwest Territories.